1834, Victor, Count of Kerouallan, grand son of the Seneschal of
Quimperlé and descendant of the famous Venitian Dandolo
family, extends his properties and buys the lands of Kerlarec.
château, first named Château de Kerouallanic is
completed and blessed. No chapel is built there then. It is already in
the Manor of Rosgrand, 2 miles away, which is part of the huge estate
of the family.
the Count’s daughter marries the Lorraine-born Baron Etienne
Charles Alfred de Lépinau, descendant of a brother of Joan
setlle at Château de Kerlarec. Four towers are added to the
building, as well as an orangery and stables. They will have nine
B Anglade, a master glassmaker, at the request of the Countess,
realizes four impressive stained glasses illustrating the life of Joan
of Arc, being inspired by the faces of the family members.
entrance hall has kept its unusual original panoramic wallpapers whose
reproduction can be seen in the Museum of Mulhouse.
good to better without any detour” is the family’s
motto engraved in the stained glasses of the entrance door.
has retained its architectural integrity and still exudes the elegance,
luxury and refinement of the 19th century.
is all the small touches which make a stay at Kerlarec so special, a
real experience of French gentry.